It gives us great pleasure to officially announce the winners of our 2021 season awards, presented by LJ Hooker, and add the latest names onto our club’s honour roll!

Despite the shortened season we saw a number of standout performances on the field, and meaningful contributions off it. It’s a season that saw three of our teams – W15/2a, W18/2 and WAL1s – all finish as competition winners, as well as a successful season for our senior men’s team with FA Cup progression and a mid-table finish, and a strong start for a number of our junior teams in their first year of competition.

Off the field, we saw the introduction of our development program, new CCC’s and a major commercial partner in LJ Hooker come aboard to support the club.

Club President John Kowtan is proud of the achievements in 2021.

“There’s no doubt this has been another difficult year for everyone, but despite that I’m incredibly proud of the way our club and it’s members, committee and volunteers have handled 2021. Whilst it’s obviously disappointing that we were unable to complete the season, the talent, enthusiasm and pride in that famous red jersey that was on show, leaves me in no doubt that we will bounce back bigger and better than ever in 2022!”

The club were inundated with nominations for the 2021 awards, making it an incredibly tough task to select the winners.

“We really had an outstanding crop of nominees this year” JK said. “”Everyone was deserving of the recognition, but obviously we have to pick a winner!

“I’d like to acknowledge one or two of those winners. Jud Harrison led the WAL1s to the Premiership, continuing an incredible run of success for this particular group of players. Away from the competition Jud also played a key role in the establishment of our development program, the evolution of the CCC’s and was on hand every single week for set up and pack down. Quite simply Jud’s contribution across the club this year was second to none, and he fully deserves his two awards.”

Jud Harrison and the successful WAL1 squad

“The U12/3s deserve a mention as winners of the Andrew David West Memorial Shield. Stepping up to the competition level can be daunting, but this team embraced the challenge throughout. They were often low on numbers, but they were big on heart and commitment and always left with a smile on their face. It was also a proud moment to see Jensen Lambeth make his competition debut in goal after a tough few years.

“Dan Morley is the joint winner of the Dick Wiseman trophy. Many in our community will know Dan and this honour is in recognition of the incredible part he played when one of our own Over 45’s player, suffered a cardiac arrest during a pre-season game. Dan attended to him, keeping him alive until the paramedics arrived. Dan is a key part of our defib education program, and also coaches and plays at the club.

Dan Morley at the 2021 Defib Cup at Cromer Park

“Our Pat Ford award is shared three ways this year! Jean Walsh is a stalwart of the senior women’s scene, playing, coaching and mentoring. This has been a particularly tough 12 months for this group and Jean’s compassion and understanding on a personal level has been invaluable, as well as her mighty efforts on the field.

“The other winners are Jill Thain and Amie Stylianou, our club registrars. The effort put in this year with a brand new registration system in place, DRIBL, was incredible, and without the herculean efforts of Jill and Amie along with Jacinta Newcombe I doubt we’d have been able to even start the season!

“Finally Club Person of the Year is Vice-President Mark Thain. Not only did Mark coach the most improved team of the year, the U18/4s, but he took over the COVID-19 officer role, represented the club with distinction at MWFA meetings, and was always on hand every week to set up Careel Bay and pack down. Mark’s name will sit with pride amongst some of our club’s greats.”

Congratulations to all our award winners!


Junior coach of the year James Mitchell

Junior Goalkeeper of the Year (Michael Carroll Trophy) – ISSY WATTS (U15/4)

Junior Manager of the Year – STUART RANDALL (W14/1)

Junior Coach of the Year – JAMES MITCHELL (U13/3A)

Junior Girl’s Best & Fairest Player (Mia Waters Trophy) – MITZI KNIGHT (W15/2A)

Senior Women’s Player of the Year – GABBY DENT (WAL1)

Senior Women’s Golden Boot of the Year – GEORGIA HARVEY (WAL1)

Junior Girls Coach of the Year – ANDY WATTS (W13/3B)

Senior Women Coach of the Year – JUD HARRISON (WAL1)

Junior Mixed Best & Fairest Player – HARLEY VALLIS (U15/2)

Men’s Young Player of the Year (Frank Williams Trophy) – ETHAN LANGRIDGE (MAL1)

Senior Men’s Golden Boot of the Year – ETHAN LANGRIDGE (MAL1)

Senior Men’s Coach of the Year – MIKE READ (U18/2)

Senior Manager of the Year – PAULINE WRIGHT (WAL2) & KEVIN BUCKLEY (035/5)

Senior GK of the Year (Col Green Memorial Shield) – EVE ROBERTSON (WAL1)

Women’s AL1 Most Improved Player of the Year (Rob Howes Trophy) – EVE ROBERTSON (WAL1)

Women’s AL1 (First Grade) Player of the Year – MOLLY BELL (WAL1)

Men’s AL1 Most Improved Player of the Year – JOHN FERGUSON

Men’s AL1 (Res Grade) Player of the Year – OLI JONES

Men’s AL1 (1st Grade) Player of the Year – JACK MURATA (MAL1)



Most improved team of the year U18/4s

Most Improved Junior Team of the Year – U18/4

Encouragement Award (Andrew David West Memorial Shield) – U12/3

Team Recognition Award (Roland Luke Trophy) – W15/2A

Best Goal Average (Tom Doyle Shield) – WAL1



Services to the Club (Greg Ball Memorial Shield) – ALI CAMPBELL & ANDY NOLAN

Services to the Club (Dick Wiseman Trophy) – JUD HARRISON & DAN MORLEY

Services to the Club by a Woman (Pat Ford Memorial Shield) – JEAN WALSH, AMIE STYLIANOU,  JILL THAIN

Club Person of the Year (Tony Atherton Trophy) – MARK THAIN